5 EKİM 2016
The 7th Steelie Awards Shortlist Announced
The World Steel Association (worldsteel) has announced the shortlist for its 7th Steelie Awards. The winners will be revealed at the Annual Dinner of the 50th worldsteel conference in Dubai on Monday, 10 October. The trophies, known as Steelies, are awarded in seven categories.

The categories are:

1. Steel industry website of the year

Salzgitter AG Stahl und Technologie
Tata Steel Europe
thyssenkrupp AG
voestalpine AG

2. Innovation of the year

Hesteel Group Co., Ltd.: for R&D of high carbon tool steel thin slab continuous casting and rolling process
JSW Steel Limited: for converting granulated blast furnace slag into sand
JSW Steel Limited: for development of advanced high strength automotive steels with speed and innovation

3. Excellence in sustainability

ArcelorMittal: Extending the lifecycle of steel – sheet piles in a circular economy
Hesteel Group Co., Ltd. (Tangsteel): Urban recycled water as the only water source in iron and steel production
Ternium: Development of a sustainable industrial centre in Pesquería, Mexico 

4. Excellence in Life Cycle Assessment

Erdemir Group: for the use of LCA to develop the greenhouse gas emissions monitoring system in Turkey
POSCO: for using LCA with customers to identify the environmental and business benefits of their advanced product portfolio in Korea
thyssenkrupp Steel Europe: for the implementation of LCA to assess the potential environmental performance and recyclability in their product development process
Tata Steel India: for the use of LCA to demonstrate the environmental benefits of having a high resource efficiency mining process

5. Excellence in education and training

ArcelorMittal: for their 'Safety Training Programme' including safety leadership training and take care programme 
Nucor Corporation: for their leadership in financial management training
Tata Steel Europe: for their 'Graduate Development' programme
Tenaris: for their ‘Development Maintenance Programme’
Ternium: for their ‘Fundamentals of Supervisor’s Role’ programme

6. Journalist of the year

Vera Blei, Metal Bulletin
Henry Cooke, Platts
David Fickling, Bloomberg
Yang Kai, China Metallurgical News
Michael Pooler, Financial Times

7. Industry communicator of the year

Wolfgang Eder, Chairman & CEO, voestalpine AG
Ohjoon Kwon, CEO, POSCO
Naveen Jindal, Chairman, Jindal Steel and Power Limited (JSPL)
Zhenjiang Liu, Secretary General, China Iron & Steel Association (CISA)
Alexander Mohr, Secretary General, APEAL

The selection process for the shortlist varies between awards. In most cases the submissions are requested via the appropriate membership committee and the worldsteel extranet. Entries are then judged by selected expert panels using agreed performance criteria. Journalist of the year and Industry communicator of the year are selected by direct vote.

Source: Worldsteel